Two mindbogging videos on education

Worthwhile to look and reflect on these 15 minutes video messages. It will change your day.The first one is from Kiran Bir Sethi, Kiran Bir Sethi shows how her groundbreaking Riverside School in India teaches kids life’s most valuable lesson: “I can.” Watch her students take local issues into their own hands, lead other young people, even educate their parents.Follow on:  http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/kiran_bir_sethi_teaches_kids_to_take_charge.html But she went further, she created an initiative for making Ahmedabad India’s First Child Friendly City. Look at her website:  http://www.aproch.org/

 The second one is from Sir Ken Robinson,  

It is a poignant, funny 15 min talk, making the case for a radical shift from standardized schools to personalized learning — creating conditions where kids’ natural talents can flourish. http://www.ted.com/talks/sir_ken_robinson_bring_on_the_revolution.htmlAnd if you didn’t dully catch the quotes he made. Here they are:The dogmas of the quiet past are inadequate to the stormy present. The occasion is piled high with difficulty, and we must rise with the occasion. As our case is new, so we must think anew and act anew.
Abraham Lincoln
 And  

Cloths of Heaven by William Butlet Yeats

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Hope you like it.

I do believe education is “THE” most important action we can undertake to prepare a better future for Humankind on our Planet. Education for the youth, also education for adults, and education for the old.

But education along new principles, those of autonomy, freedom, mutuality, self-determination, and social integration for everyone.  More later on this… Go fast to  these videos, and let’s exchange further if they inspire you…

CheersCharles

About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 14 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe.
This entry was posted in My thoughts and recent discoveries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

