Ben Hammersley assigns # Lift participants a mission

I liked very much Ben’s talk at Lift, because in the end, he highlighted the absolute necessity of mutual understanding between worldviews as prior to that of innovation. But as I conclude hereafter, he spoke from a unilateral viewpoint.

His point, insofar as I understood:

The people currently running the world: the elite at Davos, the people in charge of nations, regions, corporations, education…
1. Do not understand the non hierarchical world that the youth takes for granted
2. Do not understand how to understand this world (and the youth)
3. Do not understand that they could never possibly understand how to understand it
In a nutshell: they lack the intellectual and cognitive frameworks of how a world could possibly work without hierarchy.

He believes the most important mission for the “in between” generation is to look at all the innovations happening, all the new ways of doing things, and to start thinking about how to TRANSLATE them so the people in charge can understand.

He surely wanted to be provocative amidst the Lift “geeks”. But when you think of it, this lack of understanding has always existed. Today, amidst the accelerating change, it is possibly more acute. He merely highlights the plural and opposing worldviews that exist in every social system.

The “Theory of Socio-Cultural Viability” (also called “Cultural Theory”) has something top say here, and that’s what I consider my mission:

To diffuse the ideas at the basis of this theory, so that a deliberative quality can be reached between the opposing worldviews. These, according to the theory are a necessary condition for any social system to remain healthy (viable), however small or however global.

So in fine, Ben is right, deliberative quality is reached only when opposing solidarities start the TRANSLATION exercise he appeals for. His is just another way for calling for deep dialogue, mutual understanding and respect between opposing worldviews.

Amplify’d from www.livestream.com
 

About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 17 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe. I am now fully engaged alongside Gunter Pauli in the http://www.zeri.org and the @myblueeconomy Networks as CEO of ZERI.EU vzw (Non for Profit association)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

