@bjfogg Breakthrough Research: Behavior Change Triggered by Social Media. What Mobile Adds.

A discovery for me: I’m flabbergasted.
Follow hereafter to discover what I just read in a “Plexus Insitute” announcement:

B.J. Fogg, the inventor and innovator who runs Stanford University’s Persuasive Technology Lab, says that when it comes to behavior change, we need to “put hot triggers on the path of motivated people.”

He thinks technology can help create healthy habits in the lives of everyday people, and growing cadre of entrepreneurs and big companies are creating gadgets and programs designed to do just that.

B=mat (Motivation, Ability, Trigers)

Not far from , but absolutely complementary to, Dan & Chip Heath’s Ideas for Change as explained in SWITCH (excellent book), or from Kegan & Laskow Lahey’s Immunity to Change. Both absolute must reads.

For the motivation part: see Deci & Ryan’s with their Theory of Self-Determination: They remain the landmark for me.
For ability: see Carol Dweck in Mindset: what makes that some people will never learn, and others learn all the time.

What’s new here : The fact that social media and mobile devices can be used to help trigger new behavior (Helping to just step over the barrier to change, which is the real problem in personal change efforts).

Great and uplifting discovery, since individual behavior change is so key to societal change.

Amplify’d from www.behaviormodel.org

BJ Fogg’s Behavior Model

What Causes Behavior Change?

Pasted Graphic
Pasted Graphic 1

Read more at www.behaviormodel.org

 
About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 14 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe.
This entry was posted in My thoughts and recent discoveries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to @bjfogg Breakthrough Research: Behavior Change Triggered by Social Media. What Mobile Adds.

  1. RalfLippold says:

    Often it’s the infused mental model of “not being able to change the system” that hinders people to start even the smallest effort towards better.

    Lean thinking, what I am passionate about for the last 35 years (in general doing a process that I am not fond of in a more eLEgANt way), is enabling people to (1.) gain time (2.) to make small changes in an instant (without fear of damaging anything).

    Often it misperceived as lean management, where fixed processes in a factory (such as a car manufacturer) are reduced of “waste” in order to reduce costs.

    Lean thinking -in my understanding- rather sets free time for the people in the process to make them able to rethink the process and come up with new more value creating ideas for products and services. Especially the intrapreneurs in organizations will be the early movers in this game and their purpose will be to pull the others in the organizations with them by showing what is possible. Some thoughts about this special type of people: http://bizdesigndd.blogspot.com/2010/10/extrapreneurs-new-business-design-piece.html

Leave a Reply

