Internet’s Unholy Marriage to Capitalism

Dear Fellow Humans,

I am currently totally absorbed by the “Mind Amplifiers” Introduction Course of Howard Rheingold. I am discovering a World of immense Possibility, but become increasingly aware that we might also be on the way to a World of immense toil.  Do we have a chance to augment our minds to come out of this dilemma with hope? It’s very challenging for a Grandfather like me, to keep up with the latest media technologies, and contribute to exchanges with incredibly bright and expert co-learners. 

This is requiring my attention, almost day and night. It’s also the reason why I have been absent from Social Media Exchanges during the last few weeks (and will be in the weeks ahead).

But the article hereafter has drawn my attention. I feel it is my duty to diffuse it widely.

I feel deeply  concerned by its description of what I believe to be only one face of phenomena that increasingly could lead to very severe consequences for the future,  because they present all the characteristics of Path Dependency and Lock-In,  originating from historical events and decisions made over the last decades.

I do sincerely hope that this article will generate serious and learning dialogue between all constituents of society, beginning between you and me perhaps.  The seriousness of the problems facing our World will only be resolved, in my opinion, through a quantum leap in the level of deliberative quality between all the voices of society, instead of remaining confined to the usual sterile confrontations between “fixed mindsets” and “entrenched positions”.

I sincerely hope that as Humans, we will find ways to grow in our capacity to tackle our problems, and that in so doing, we will spare our grandchildren and their offspring from a fate that might end up being unworthy of our Human endowment.

Please,

Charles

Amplify’d from monthlyreview.org

We place these articles at no charge on our website to serve all the people who cannot afford Monthly Review, or who cannot get access to it where they live. Many of our most devoted readers are outside of the United States. If you read our articles online and you can afford a subscription to our print edition, we would very much appreciate it if you would consider purchasing one. Please click here to subscribe.
Thank you very much. —The Editors

The Internet’s Unholy Marriage to Capitalism

John Bellamy Foster and Robert W. McChesney

The full impact of the Internet revolution will only become apparent in the future, as more technological change is on the horizon that can barely be imagined and hardly anticipated.2 But enough time has transpired, and institutions and practices have been developed, that an assessment of the digital era is possible, as well as a sense of its likely trajectory into the future.

Read more at monthlyreview.org

 
About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 14 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe.
This entry was posted in My thoughts and recent discoveries and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

