Join us in San Francisco and Silicon Valley on May 22 to 28th, for an Incredible Adventure: Inventing the Future?

Can you imagine a company in France, wanting their people to “invent the future“?

Can you imagine a company creating an initiative that mobilizes a  large number of their key executives, 280 in total, to travel all over the world for a full week,  in search of encounters, experience, clues, innovations, ideas, expecting this harvest will be shared with all the others in the company, so as to allow the whole 300.000 people of the Group to benefit and grow, inventing their and the future?.

This is not a joke, nor is it a dream, it is reality: the 380 executives, chosen from all quarters of this company, are organized in trans-disciplinary teams of 16 people who don’t know each other too well. They have a limited budget, so as to be stretched somewhat, and they have one week to travel. Where to go is their choice, how to organize is their choice, what to see or do is their choice . They are totally free to co-create their travel. Nobody leads the team, nobody is there to control them, they are really put into a position to self-organize and co-create the experience and the results…  This total freedom of choice is assorted of one condition: bring back to the group the richest possible harvest of ideas about how to invent the future, communicate it internally so as to allow all to participate in inventing and creating it, for themselves, the company and the socio-economic eco-system in which they will be living.

Now this is a very large organization, very successful, undisputed leader in its field. I know why. It has a clear vision, shared by all, it has put its people on top of its values, and its ambition is focused “be passionate about helping the client/consumer to better his life”.

How many organizations are there like that?  This makes me passionate. It brings me immense hope that some organizations dare to move in unchartered territories, into the right direction. When I am passionate about something, I want to be part of it, to contribute to make it even better. So my friend Laurent and myself managed to “slip” into the initiative and to be part of the team visiting San Francisco and Silicon Valley.

When: we are arriving in San Francisco on May 22nd, departing to Paris on Saturday May 28th.

The program has been co-created by the team and is partially structured, just enough to leave room for a lot of improvisation and an openness for discovery. As part of it is left to improvisation, here I am to offer you an opportunity to suggest, challenge, participate, join…

You’ve understood that part of the challenge is to meet as many diverse people as possible, no walks of life is excluded. The challenge is also to be exposed to the most mind-boggling initiatives and situations… far from beaten tracks.

So this is a call to you:  my Californian friends. That’s the purpose of this blog entry. It will be relayed on twitter, facebook, amplified by all social media possible….

I sincerely belief that by joining some part of the journey, challenging the team, inspiring them, suggesting ideas, places, encounters, experiences…you will also benefit… I promise you that…

I’m at your disposal to enter into a co-creation process with you now, my friends… It should be a win-win process, a matching of excellence with excellence…

I’m finished, I am curious to hear from you… I hope you will join and contribute to this incredible opportunity.

Cheers, and see you in San Francisco, in Silicon Valley, and wherever you may want to suggest we should go… without losing time in travel, in order to maximize time for rich encounters and experience exchange

About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 14 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe.
This entry was posted in My thoughts and recent discoveries. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Join us in San Francisco and Silicon Valley on May 22 to 28th, for an Incredible Adventure: Inventing the Future?

  1. Géniale entreprise et “good job” pour vous les méta jardiniers !

  2. Pingback: Charles van der Haegen's Blog

Leave a Reply

