#Team17InventingTomorrow @SlowMoney buy the book!

When David Corson-Knowles came into the conference room he brought with him a book. It immediately drew attention. How could it be otherwise? Both its title and its subject could not have had a greater impact on Leroy Merlin’s Team and on me…the title: SLOW MONEY

First the world Slow: Since we were here, in the Bay area, we were brainwashed with what some called the principles of the area… Moore’s and Metcalf’s laws… speed, acceleration, growth… and being suddenly confronted with the word SLOW, kind of provoked some relief… Ok, the Bay area is not exclusively about speed, slowness, ripening, maturing, words, concepts who reminds me of wisdom can also find some attention here too… We had already heard it, when Jacob spoke about the processes of nature, but here, it was printed as the cover of a book.

Second Money, not that we had not heard of Money, WE HAD. But here it was another kind of money, the other side of money perhaps… Too long to go on here, but what came as a mirror to me: How could I possibly have missed this initiative.

I was suddenly confronted with the proof that my information system, my “infotension” system was leaky (hello Howard Rheingold – I had to hear that while being, too briefly, in your area… I’ve still a lot to learn my master). Since Money and the Money systems are one of my prime attention points, the lesson I got came hard, but will help me move onto a new level of learning (Hello Carol Dweck?)

Thank you David for having introduced us to your passion, congratulations for the work already achieved, you’ve recruited me on your road to responsible dignified money…

And I’m sure you relieved the questions the Team Raised, the contradictions they saw… Between extreme extremes I would say, confronting us in this Bay Area: rich and poor, technology and humanity, generosity and selfishness, passion and fatalism, so many more to which one is added SPEED and SLOWNESS…

So much more to say, I should leave it here by now, thanking David, and wishing him to go to the end of his passion, hoping he might one day slow down and admire the impact of his passionate work…

Thank you David, You’ll hear from me…

Amplify’d from www.slowmoney.org
About Slow Money

The Slow Money Alliance is a national network and a family of local networks, organized around: 

The Slow Money Principles 
New ways of thinking about the relationship between food, money and soil;

Regional Events
Slow Money Institutes, local discussion groups and entrepreneur showcases organized by Slow Money chapters;

National Gatherings
Annual events that bring together investors, donors, entrepreneurs, activists and farmers from around the country and the world; and,

Financial Products and Services
Incubating new vehicles to make it easier for individuals of all economic backgrounds to participate, including The Soil Trust, Slow Municipal Bonds and a Kiva-style platform.

Our members include experienced investors, leading food entrepreneurs, social investment pioneers, organic farmers and just plain old regular folks who are worried about where their investments are going or who want to chip in small donations.  All of us believe that putting some of our money to work in local food enterprises makes tremendous sense—in terms of financial diversification, in terms of biological diversity, in terms of security, in terms of local resilience, in terms of addressing many of today’s most pressing health and environmental challenges.

Read more at www.slowmoney.org

 

About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 14 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

