Wicked Problems and The Theory of Socio-Cultural Viability – Thinking and Acting on a Higher Level, Resistance to Paradigm Change in Social Science

Since the beginning of this year, I am deeply engaged in following diverse courses Howard Rheingold organizes in his SMC Social Media Classroom)

One of these courses is “Cooperation Literacy and Theory” (Cooplit).

I wanted to share publicly the long blog I posted on the Alumni and the Cooplit2 platforms of Howard Rheingold U, to share with my co-learners the learning I gained in my contacts with 4 of the major theoreticians and practitioners of this Theory: they are Michael Thompson, Marco Verweij, Dipak Gyawali and Steven Ney

I do believe this Theory allows us to think anew about how to define and solve the intractable problems that are plaguing our world. This Theory may well provide us with the higher level of thinking that Einstein judged indispensable to solve these problems .

The way we are actually working to solve them reminds me of what Einstein also said about Insanity: “doing the same thing again and again, expecting different results“.

Einstein, to remain with him, also famously said :

Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds. The mediocre mind is incapable of understanding the man who refuses to bow blindly to conventional prejudices and chooses instead to express his opinions courageously and honestly.

Maybe there are mediocre minds around. But I’ve observed that there are a also lot of very sharp minds around, the vast majority of which seem to prefer remaining safely attached to their outdated orthodoxies, jealously protecting their vested interests, or being too coward and dishonest to admit their failures. The great spirits today are thus facing violent opposition on two fronts: from mediocre and sharp minds.

What have we done to reach such an appalling state of affairs? What  should we do to reverse this vicious spiral, surely leading us to disaster?

 

 

About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 17 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe. I am now fully engaged alongside Gunter Pauli in the http://www.zeri.org and the @myblueeconomy Networks as CEO of ZERI.EU vzw (Non for Profit association)
This entry was posted in My thoughts and recent discoveries, People. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wicked Problems and The Theory of Socio-Cultural Viability – Thinking and Acting on a Higher Level, Resistance to Paradigm Change in Social Science

  1. Pingback: Where Have I Been, Whereto Am I Heading? | Charles van der Haegen's Blog

Leave a Reply

