Reading of “Hacks of Valor: Why Anonymous is NOT a Threat to National Secutity” by Yochai Benkler And my Quandary about #CISPA

Must read

In my quest to understand #CISPA I read again “Hacks of Valor: Why Anonymous is NOT a Threat to National Secutity”. http://ow.ly/aJWhJ
In this remarkable article Yochai Benkler analyses Anonymous and their actions in the light of what he describes as: (his words)

A decade that saw the normalization in U.S. policy of lawless detentions, torture, and targeted assassinations; a persistent refusal to bring those now or formerly in power, in both the public and private sectors, to account for their failures; and a political system that increasingly favors the rich have eroded that certitude.” (that we are still in naÏve times)

According to Benkler, Anonymous’ actions are far from a threat to National Security. They should rather been seen as (his words) :

Anonymous plays the role of the audacious provocateur, straddling the boundaries between destructive, disruptive, and instructive

He concludes his analysis. with a severe warningt:

Any society that commits itself to eliminating what makes Anonymous possible and powerful risks losing the openness and uncertainty that have made the Internet home to so much innovation, expression, and creativity.”

Can a country envisaging a legislation like #CISPA still be considered a democracy?

Oh Founding Fathers, what has your beloved America become?

People of the World, how can we help our Americans friends get out of this quandary?

As the past has ceased to throw its light upon the future, the mind of man wanders in obscurity“(de Tocqueville in Democracy in America, Volume II, 1840) retrieved in  Wikiquotes

About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 17 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe. I am now fully engaged alongside Gunter Pauli in the http://www.zeri.org and the @myblueeconomy Networks as CEO of ZERI.EU vzw (Non for Profit association)
This entry was posted in My thoughts and recent discoveries, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

