Albert Bartlett: “The Greatest Shortcoming of the Human Race is Our Inability to Understand the Exponential Function”

The Exponential Function is all you need to understand what Albert Bartlett calls:

“The First Law of Sustainability: Population Growth and/or growth in the rates of Consumption of resources, CANNOT BE SUSTAINED”

Rush to view his masterful lecture:

You will learn:

How generally acknowledged, high ranking experts misunderstand,  and misinform (or do they disinform?).  He provides some mindboggling examples of this.

Why we better depend on ourselves to separate the wheat from the chaff being hammered into us by apparently thruthfull experts.

Indirectly, how important it is to defend and nurture the drive of powerful technological, social and economic forces for curbing the political and judicial institutional ecology towards :

  1. a free, transparent, open, and incorruptible way to create and exchange information, knowledge and culture,
  2. greater individual autonomy, greater democracy in political communities, and greater opportunities for cultural self-reflection and human connection in societies
  3. improving the state of human development everywhere and
  4. true transformation toward more humanly dignified and sustainable societies

Albert Bartlett Kills A Destructive Pervasive Myth in the Process

He indeed magnificently demonstrates why the promise of growth is illusionary (at best) and NOT a solution to our current economic (and other) predicaments.

Einstein is quoted having said: “ A new type of thinking is essential if mankind is to survive and move toward higher levels

Abandoning the pervasive growth myth will free our minds, push us to think differently and move us towards a higher level. I do believe mankind can survive if we are able to find new, path-breaking ways towards individual and collective progress. Progress that will allow us to uplift ourself, to flourish, to develop ourselves towards our highest potential, to spread happiness all around us. Progress that will bring peace and dignified life and sustainable symbiosis with each-other and our planet. We better imagine PROGRESS that is different than GROWTh though!

Bartlett’s masterful lesson also allows us to meditate.

Meditate on Eric Sevaneid’s Law: “The chief source of problems is solutions

Meditate on Winston Churchill’s wise words: “Sometimes we have to do what is required”

I wasn’t aware of my ignorance of the far-reaching implications of the “exponential function”. I am in good company though. Did not Thomas Lovejoy, chief biodiversity adviser to the President of the World Bank say:

I find to my personal horror that I have not been immune to naïveté about exponential functions…While I have been aware that the interlinked problems of loss of biological diversity, tropical deforestation, forest dieback and the climate change are growing exponentially, it is only this very year that I think I truly internalized how rapid their accelerating threat really is.”
Do view, or view again, Bartlett’s remarkable lecture series, it’s a safe bet you’ll be impressed, and you will GROW (meaning PROGRESS)

Always Learning, Never Getting it Right”
http://ow.ly/aNiqt

About charlesvanderhaegen

I am a grandfather of an immensely inspiring family, thanks to the most incredible wife. To satisfy my family's needs, I was for 30 years business entrepreneur, roller coasting between success and failure. 17 years ago I was forced to stop and reflect. I dug into theory and discovered the World out there, that my involvement in Business had kept hidden to me. I feared that I will not escape remaining amidst my trans-disciplinary quest forever, bouncing back and forth from action to theory, always puzzled by Europe's apparent incapacity to free itself from its Institutional/Technological Lock-ins. My horizon opened up when Gunter Pauly, my intimate friend of 35 years, asked me to join him and take charge ZERI's development in Europe. I am now fully engaged alongside Gunter Pauli in the http://www.zeri.org and the @myblueeconomy Networks as CEO of ZERI.EU vzw (Non for Profit association)
This entry was posted in My thoughts and recent discoveries, People, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Albert Bartlett: “The Greatest Shortcoming of the Human Race is Our Inability to Understand the Exponential Function”

  1. I like what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve you guys to my personal blogroll.

  2. Pingback: Waste Not, Want Not. – Life With Environmental Science

Leave a Reply

